Being A Bridesmaid

A few weekends ago, I was a bridesmaid for my oldest sister. The wedding was held at Ellingham Hall, and it was beautiful!

20170203_151139_hdr-2

I was so happy that my sister had asked me to be a bridesmaid for her and her husband to be’s special day. There were six bridesmaids all together, and we all had a different dress. The colour scheme was purple and mauve, so all of the dresses were some variation of those two colours.

16665908_10154952339463180_4588116542169235833_o

On the morning of the wedding, we all had our hair done by two lovely hairdressers. They did a fantastic job of all of our hair and one of them also did my sister’s makeup – she looked absolutely stunning!

img_5220

(This is the only picture I could find of my hair!)

For my own makeup, I did it myself, and I thought I would do a little tutorial of how I created my look. By no means am I a makeup pro, but this is a simple look that I think most people will be able to achieve!

Bridesmaid Makeup Images.png

I began by using the Garnier Makeup Remover Milk, I applied a medium size blob to a cotton pad and wiped my face with it to remove any excess makeup/dirt.

I then moved onto moisturising my face. The moisturiser I use is from Avon, it’s called Anew Vitale Visible Perfection Day Cream. (The one that I use came in a face care set, so the tub isn’t as big as if you buy it separately.) I used my finger to apply dots of this cream all over my face then I used a cotton pad to rub it in.

After my face felt nice and moisturised, I went in with a primer by the brand Smashbox. It’s called Photo Finish Colour Corrector and I have it in the colour green which is meant to reduce redness in the skin. I put a small blob of this onto my index finger and dotted the blob around my face. I focused it mostly on my t-zone, nose and under my eyes. I just use my fingers to spread the primer out.

bridesmaid-makeup-images

Now, onto makeup. Since I wanted my makeup to last all day, I used two different foundations. I went in first with Mac’s Studio Fix Fluid, I don’t wear this on a daily basis as 1) it’s pricey and 2) I feel like it’s too thick – I only use it when I’m wanting a full coverage that will last me all day.

I don’t have a pump with my foundation, so I used my finger to apply dots of the foundation around my face. I blended out the foundation using a stippling brush that I got from Wilko.

After the Mac foundation, I used my everyday foundation which is Revlon Colorstay for Normal/Dry Skin. This foundation comes with a pump, so I pumped some of it out directly onto my cheeks, chin and nose, then used the same stippling brush to blend it all out.

For my eyes, I didn’t want anything too heavy, but I also didn’t want it too be super natural either. So I found a happy medium by going for purply, pinky, red and brown toned eye shadows from the Makeup Revolution Palette Flawless Matte.

Bridesmaid Makeup Images (1).jpg

Using my index finger and colour 1, I set the foundation on my eyelids to prevent creasing.

I then used brush A and colour 2 to apply some colour to the crease of my eyes. I blended upwards and out with the brush.

Taking brush A again but this time with colour 3, I apply it to my crease but focus more on the inner and outer corner of my eyes.

Using brush B and colour 2, I applied the shadow to my bottom lash lines and also the inner corners of my eye.

I then took brush C and colour 4 and applied it to the outer corner of my eyes and took it down slightly onto my bottom lash line.

bridesmaid-makeup-images-2

With the Kardashian Beauty Khloe’s Kardazzle palette, I used a flat brush and applied shadow X to my eyelids.

bridesmaid-makeup-images-3

I lined the waterline of eyes with the NYX Slide on Eye Pencil in brown then I also used it on my inner corner, upper lash line. On the outer corner of my waterline, I used the Kardashian Beauty High Eye Q Gel Eyeliner Pencil in black.

bridesmaid-makeup-images-4

With Maybelline’s Colour Tattoo 24hr in black and a small angled brush, I created a small wing to elongate my eye.

Bridesmaid Makeup Images (5).jpg

Before applying my mascara, I removed any off fall from the eye shadow and with Avon’s Ideal Flawless concealer and a foundation brush I concealed under my eye and down to my cheek to add a bit of highlight.

bridesmaid-makeup-images-6

Using the Volume Colourist Mascara by Rimmel London, I coated my top and bottom lashes with a few sweeps of mascara.

bridesmaid-makeup-images-7

For my eyebrows, I use the powder from Avon’s Perfect Eyebrow Kit – I apply this all over my eyebrow with a small angled brush. To define the arch and tail of my brows, I took a small and thin flat brush and a dark brown eye shadow and filled in the shape.

bridesmaid-makeup-images-8

For my lips, I lined them using a nude brownish pink colour from a set of lip liners that I bought off Amazon – It’s called Davis Cosmetics Wood Lip Liner. I then used the Soft Matte Lip Cream by NYX to fill in my lips – I used the shade ‘London’.

bridesmaid-makeup-images-10

To finish off the look, I took a fluffy angled brush and applied Rimmel’s Natural Bronzer under my cheekbones, around the top of my forehead and down each side of my nose.

bridesmaid-makeup-images-11

With the Khloe’s Kardazzle palette, I used the white highlighter on my brow bone, cupids bow and also on the very tip of my nose. For some highlight on my cheekbones, I used a different fluffy angled brush and the golden highlighter from the Barry M Get Up & Glow Palette.

Due to being in quite a rush on the wedding morning, I totally forgot to take a picture of my makeup (stupid!) but I did take some (terrible) pictures of my makeup when I did a practice run, so these kinda show what it turned out like!

20170119_191035-1

(Excuse all of the off fall shmuts)

snapchat-2135734725.jpg

While we were getting ready, the flower bouquets were dropped off and I’ve never seen such a beautiful array of flowers before! It’s been two weeks since the wedding and my bridesmaid bouquet is still going strong!

16196047_10154536418298138_5560209947834262612_n

The wedding was brilliant, so much thought had been put into it. For the nighttime do, my sister and her new hubby hired a band, who also played ceilidh songs. Unfortunately, due to too many shots of tequila, jager and who knows what else, I don’t remember much of the nighttime do, but apparently I looked like I was having a good time!

small-logo-la-pp-x

 

Leave a Reply

