Attempting Nail Art

A few months ago I bought some nail art brushes from Poundland. I only really bought them because there was a small flat brush and angled brush in the set that I thought would be great for doing my eyeliner flicks and eyebrows. After I took out the brushes I wanted, I put the rest of the set aside and totally forgot that I’d even bought them.

I came across the nail art brushes today, and since I had nothing else to do, I thought I would give doing some nail art a try. I got all of my nail varnishes out that I wanted to use and I thought I would take some pictures of the process, just in case it turned out good.

Well, I certainly wouldn’t say my nail art attempt turned out brilliant, it’s so much harder than it looks! However, I thought I would still do a post about it because I think it adds a cute little addition to my nails.

What You’ll Need

20170307_140859

  • Nail Polish Remover
  • Nail Art Brushes
  • Nail Varnishes Of Choice
    • Base Colour
    • Stem & Leaf Colour
    • Petal Colour 
    • Centre Colour
    • Clear Coat

Nail Varnish - Nail ArtNail Brushes - Nail Art

Step One

I began by removing any old varnish that I had on my nails.

Step Two

This step is optional, but before I put on any coloured varnish, I applied a layer of nail strengthener to all of my nails. They’ve been really brittle lately so hopefully this will help!

20170307_143209

I use Sally Hansen Hard As Nails

Step Three

I painted all of my nails with a nude mauve colour.

20170307_143927

My poor middle nail snapped 😦

Step Four

I then took a turquoise green polish and the dotting pen to make a flower stem and leaves.

20170307_144534

Step Five

Using the small brush and my lilac Barry M nail polish I created small petals.

20170307_145000

Step Six

I used the dotting pen again along with my yellow/green nail polish and placed a small blob of the polish in the centre of the petals.

20170307_145207

Step Seven

After all of the flower was dry, with the clear polish, I put a thick layer over my nail.

20170307_150420

The flowers really didn’t turn out as well as I wanted them to, but for a first attempt, I thought they were okay! Plus, with spring on the way, I thought they were quite fitting.

20170307_152910-2.jpg

I’m definitely going to keep practising nail art, and one day, I’ll be able to create a masterpiece on my nails…. Maybe :p

small-logo-la-pp-x

4 thoughts on “Attempting Nail Art

Leave a Reply

