DIY Dried Flower Nail Tutorial

On one of my first blog posts, I attempted nail art for the first time. I tried to draw little flowers on my ring fingers, and they turned out alright, but this time, I thought I would go one up and use actual flowers.

I was on a dog walk with my boyfriend, and there were quite a lot of cute wildflowers, so I decided to pick some up. You want to choose flowers that are small so that they fit onto your nails.

I went for cow parsley andย forget me not flowers.

20170513_191559.jpg

What You’ll Need

  • Flowers of choice
  • Piece of paper
  • Nail scissors
  • Heavy books

Step One

20170513_211955

Cut the heads of the flowers away from their stems using the nail scissors. For the cow parsley, I left a clump of flowers.

Step Two

20170513_212815

Place them all onto one-half of your piece of paper. Arrange them however you like, I placed some on their side and some facing downward. Carefully fold the paper in half.

Step Three

20170513_212733

Put the paper into the back of a heavy book, I added another one on top for some extra weight. Leave them for a minimum of five days to dry out and flatten.

Once your flowers are dried out, they’re ready for you to start applying to your nails.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

What You’ll Need

20170520_103147

  • Dried flowers
  • Tweezers
  • Nude nail polish
  • Clear nail polish
  • Clear matte nail polish (optional)

Step One

20170520_105158

Use your tweezers to carefully pull the flowers from the paper. Place all of your flowers facing the way that you want to apply them.

Step Two

20170520_104238

Paint your nails with the nude nail varnish.

Step Three

20170520_105555

Once your nails are dry, apply a thick clear coat of nail varnish. Use your tweezers to place the flowers onto your nails. My clear polish dried quite fast, so ifย yours also does, just apply more varnish onto the places you want to put the flowers.

20170520_105850

I did a different design on every nail.

20170520_110643

Step Four

20170520_112144

Once you’ve finished placing the flowers onto your nails, you can either use the clear nail varnish again to seal the flowers onto your nails or, like I did, you can use a clear matte nail varnish.

20170520_115036

Finito!

Once your nails are dry, you’re done.

I hope this tutorial was helpful!

small-logo-la-pp-x

Leave a Reply

