First Impression: GIVENCHY Matissime Velvet Fluid Foundation

I really like getting samples from Feel Unique as it’s a great way to try out products that I wouldn’t usually go for. This time, I’m doing a first impression of the Matissime Velvet Foundation by Givenchy.

I got my sample in the shade ‘Mat Beige’ as it was the lightest shade available. I used a damp beauty blender to apply the foundation and my first impression of the foundation was great!

It has a really nice smell and applies really well. The colour was a much better match for my skin tone than I thought it was going to be, and it gave me a really lovely fresh glow.

It did stay sticky for a while, but I prefer that to foundations that dry too fast.

I applied the foundation at around 10am this morning, it’s now 5:30pm as I’m writing this, and I’ve been out shopping and eating for most of the time in between.

I didn’t do any retouches of the foundation throughout the day, and I’ve noticed that the foundation has oxidised into a darker colour than when I first applied it. It has turned slightly orange and seems to have clung to my cheeks slightly.

20170610_174114-2.jpg

I didn’t set the foundation with powder so this could be a contributor to why it has oxidised/worn off in certain areas, but I don’t tend to set my foundation, and my usual foundation (Revlon Color Stay) always does fine!

It’s a shame because I did really like this product at first, but I’m not a fan of how it’s turned out after a few hours of wear – this is why I’ve given it 3 stars out of 5.

I think if you were going to buy this foundation, I would go for one shade lighter than what you usually would choose. Then, when it oxidises, it won’t look as obvious. I also think that this is a foundation that you would have to top up every so often during the day.

If I could get a hold of a sample of this foundation in a lighter shade, like Mat Porcelain, then I would like to try it again, and see how it works with my skin tone then.

I hope that this first impression was helpful, and gives you an idea of what the Givenchy Matissime Velvet Fluid Foundation is like!

small-logo-la-pp-x

Leave a Reply

